Packing Nightmare

Okay truth be told, while I love planning and thinking ahead, I often wait until the very last minute to do things — like packing. Even on my departure day I was running around still trying to get everything together. I had an idea of everything that I was going to need, you know, the basics are pretty obvious — pants, shirts, underwear, etc. But it’s all the little things that are hard and really need to be dealt with first like medications and documents.

In packing I made quite a few bad decisions, which I’ll list below.

  1. I packed heavy. I took so much that I could barely manage it all and even accidentally broke the boots I was wearing because one of my stuffed-to-the-brim bags hit against it a couple of times.
  2. I packed more summer and spring clothing expecting it to be warmer in Baden-Württemberg than the reality as of yet. I should have packed/worn a winter jacket just in case (since it’s been freezing since I’ve gotten here and I’ve wished for one almost everyday) and waited to buy some summer clothes here, when I’d be better equipped to figuring out where to shop and summer clothes are undoubtably cheaper.
  3. I really only brought clothes and toiletries, expecting to be living in a dorm or a full furnished apartment. This one is not really my fault since I couldn’t have predicted where I was going to live. They only give that information out when you arrive to pick up your key (which I honestly think is a terrible system because it bothers me that I couldn’t plan ahead). I really wished I had brought a pillowcase and sheet because sheets at the closer stores are expensive and it’s been two weeks and I still don’t have a pillowcase because I cannot find any outside of an expensive sheet set.

There are probably more things but I can’t think of any right now and those are the big three.

Leave a Reply

