Paris

I visited Paris last week and my friend who is living there. Paris was incredibly beautiful and there is so much to see. The louvre is free for all european students under 26, so even if you’re an american studying abroad for a semester like myself, as soon as you have a student ID card entry to the museum is free and definitely worth going to. Paris is also relatively cheap to travel around by metro, costing just under 2 euros per trip, which makes it easy to get from the Eiffel Tower to the louvre, etc. However, food and drinks (any, not just alcohol) are considerably more expensive. My first night I spent 20 euros on one meal that would probably have cost me maybe 10-12 euros/usd in the US or Germany. The food, while crazy expensive, was also some of the best I’ve ever tasted. The weather in Paris was also not very good while I was there. It rained almost the entire time, which I’m sure is because I went in the spring. All in all, Paris was a beautiful place to visit and I would love to go back and see more, but visiting my friend living there made me glad I chose Heidelberg. For a while I’ve been wondering if I should have gone to a bigger or more famous city, like Paris or Prague, for my semester abroad but after visiting Paris I realized how much safer and at home I felt in Heidelberg compared to Paris. I also realized that I can enjoy more of the food and culture of Heidelberg and enjoy a night on the town without feeling like I’m throwing away all of my money (confession: I am really frugal and hate spending money, so I might focus a lot on how much everything costs in terms of how much I enjoyed places).

Leave a Reply

