Salzburg

I visited Salzburg during my second trip to Austria, which, as I mentioned in the post about Vienna, was my favorite country I visited. Salzburg is a big part of the reason why I enjoyed Austria more than other more famous countries like France.

Salzburg is a fairly small city by the German boarder. The birthplace of Mozart, Salzburg is famous for it’s music festivals (as anyone who’s watched “The Sound of Music” knows). I visited in the summer, while the music festival was taking place, meaning that the city was packed with tourists. However, despite this or maybe because of it, Salzburg maintained a lively and magical atmosphere. With amazing amateur (opera!) singers preforming on the streets and guides walking around in traditional Austrian clothing and hundreds of stalls selling everything from traditional food to wooden creations to souvenirs, there was never a dull moment and always something to see.

Salzburg is hands down the number one place I plan on going back to (outside of Heidelberg), though of course I hope I’ll be able to visit them all again.

I could go on for days about how amazing Salzburg is, but everyplace is only as great and special as your personal experience there. It all depends on the weather, your preferences, the people you go with, the people you meet, and so on.

Salzburg was the first place outside of Germany that I visited with my mum instead of friends, which definitely made a big difference. For one, I didn’t have to worry about the cost of buying good food or the cost of taking a tour. When traveling with my mum, I also felt more able to assert what I did and did not want to see or do without feeling guilty. When I traveled with my friends, I didn’t want to say that I wasn’t interested in something in case they really wanted to go see it. Also my mum and I were able to stay in a really nice airbnb rather than just a cheap one (though nearly all of my experiences with airbnb were great).

Below are photos from my trip.

Leave a Reply

